Guy, Brooks, Jones among 7 elected to Hall of Fame

February 1, 2014 • National News

FILE – In this Jan. 31, 1993 file photo, Buffalo Bills’ wide receiver Andre Reed is upended by Dallas Cowboys’ strong safety Thomas Everett after a 13-yard reception in the third quarter of the Super Bowl in Pasadena, Calif. Reed was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, Feb. 1, 2014. (AP Photo/Doug Mills, File)

NEW YORK (AP) — The hang time is over for Ray Guy. The longtime punter for the Oakland Raiders is all by himself once again.

After waiting 23 years, Guy is the first punter elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

“Good things are worth waiting for,” Guy said Saturday night after being elected along with six other players. “It’s just a matter of time when it will show up. And I knew it would, sooner or later. It had to, whether it was me or somebody down the road. But sooner or later, it had to show up, because that is a part of a football game.”

Defensive end Michael Login to read more

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

« »