Voters reapprove RISD mill levy

February 6, 2013 • Local News

Voters re-approved Tuesday the 2 mill tax levy of the Roswell Independent School District that provides funding for maintaining buildings during the school district election.

According to unofficial election results, the mill levy received 986 votes in favor and 275 in opposition.

“The passage of the mill levy was a huge vote for education in Roswell,” said RISD Superintendent Tom Burris. “Funds will maintain facilities and provide safe and comfortable atmosphere for our students.”

RISD school board incumbents Mackenzie Lee Hunt, of District 1, Peggy [auth] S. Brewer, of District 3, and Eloy Ortega Jr., of District 5, retained their seats with 327 votes for Hunt, 212 for Brewer and 70 for Ortega.

“I’m very happy with the results,” Brewer said. “I will do my best to represent not only District 3, but the entire school system.”

She said was also pleased with voter turnout and support for the mill levy.

Brewer’s challenger for District 3, Jose Zavala received 70 votes.

In an uncontested race, Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell Community College incumbents Chad Hamill, of District 2, and Eloise Blake, of District 3, also retained their positions, with Hamill receiving 211 votes and Blake getting 364.

Dexter Consolidated School Board incumbents Orlando Chavez, of Position 4, and Daniel Lathrop, of Position 5, also retained their seats in an uncontested race, with both getting 24 votes each.

For the Lake Arthur School Board, Position 1 incumbent Irma Guillen and Position 2 incumbent Gene Bassett retained with 43 votes each. Bradly Durham took Position 5 with 38 votes, while challenger Kenneth Hart received 8 votes.

In the Hagerman School Board election, Position 4 incumbent Chad Hamill retained with 94 votes, and Chris Villa took Position 5 from incumbent Wesley Pilley, with 88 votes to Pilley’s 30. The district’s mill levy and bond also passed with the mill levy getting 80 votes in favor and 23 against; the bond received 93 votes in favor and 15 against.

The results will be made official on Friday.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

« »