Spain’s 2012 Prince of Asturias awards handed out

October 27, 2012 • Entertainment

Prince of Asturias prize winners for Sports, Real Madrid soccer player Iker Casillas, left, and FC Barcelona soccer player Xavi Hernandez, right, hold their prizes during an awards ceremony in Oviedo, Spain, Friday Oct. 26, 2012. The award is one of eight of Spain’s prestigious Asturias prizes, presented by Spanish [auth] Crown Prince Felipe and granted each year in various categories. (AP Photo/Juan Manuel Serrano Arce)

MADRID (AP) — The winners of Spain’s Prince of Asturias awards have received their prizes from Prince Felipe.

U.S. author Philip Roth won the 2012 literature prize in recognition of his contribution to American literature, but was unable to be present because he is recovering from recent surgery. U.S. Ambassador Alan Solomont read words of thanks on Roth’s behalf.

Other recipients Friday included Japan’s Shigeru Miyamoto, creator of video game Mario Bros, who claimed the communication and humanities award. British biologist Gregory Winter and American pathologist Richard Lerner were distinguished in science and technology research.

Spain national soccer team players Iker Casillas and Xavi Hernandez received the sports award, while Spanish architect Rafael Moneo was honored in the arts category.

The awards, created in 1981, are each worth €50,000 ($65,000).

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

« »