School board elections are Tuesday

January 30, 2011 • Local News

[auth] School board elections for the Roswell, Dexter, Hagerman and Lake Arthur school districts, and Eastern New Mexico University- Roswell Branch Community College Districts, will be held on Tuesday, Feb. 1. Voters who wish to cast a ballot may do so from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., on election day at the County Clerk’s Office, 1 St. Mary’s Place Suite 110, in Roswell.

In the Roswell Independent School District, G.A. Rottman and James W. Waldrip are vying for the District 2 seat. In District 4, George Peterson is running against Barry Foster and Pauline J. Ponce. Several uncontested races are also up for a vote. For ENMU-R, Mireya Trujillo is running in District 1; Ralph Fresquez is running for District 2.

In Dexter, Donna Sterrett is running in Position 1; Troy Thompson is running in Position 2, and Susan E. Garnett in Position 3. In Hagerman, Trey Lilley is running for Position 1; James M. Holloman is running for Position 2, and Glen A. Dunahoo for Position 3. In Lake Arthur, John W.

Jackson is running for Position 3; Edward M. Rubio is running for Position 4, and Kenneth Hart for Position 5. A general obligation bond question for $1.2 million and a two mill levy question will appear on the Lake Arthur ballot.

The money would be used for school building maintenance, repairs and materials to be used within the facilities. The two mill levy would impose a property tax of $2 per each $1,000 of net taxable value of the property in the district.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

« »