School boards up for vote in election

January 5, 2011 • Local News

Roswell Independent School District voters will be the only county residents deciding between multiple candidates when they go to the polls Feb. 1 for the upcoming school board elections.

Eleven candidates are running unopposed for 12 positions in Dexter, Hagerman, Lake Arthur and Eastern New Mexico University- Roswell school board elections. ENMU-R’s District 5 [auth] seat will be vacant — the deadline for candidate filing passed. Both RISD School Board incumbents James Waldrip, District 2, and George Peterson, District 4, are being opposed. G.A. Rottman is running for the District 2 seat and Pauline Ponce and Barry Foster are running for District 4.

A general obligation bond question for $1.2 million and a two mill levy question will appear on the Lake Arthur ballot. The money would be used for school building maintenance, repairs and materials to be used within the facilities. The two mill levy would impose a property tax of $2 per each $1,000 of net tax-able value of the property in the district.

ENMU-R unopposed candidates are Mireya Trujillo and Ralph Fresquez. Dexter unopposed candidates are Donna Sterrett, Troy Thompson and Susan Garnett. Hagerman candidates are Trey Lilley, James Hollmann and Glen Dunnahoo. Lake Arthur candidates are John Jackson, Edward Rubio Jr. and Kenneth Hart.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

« »